The Log Home Neighborhood

An online log home community for log home enthusiasts.

Crack the Code on Log Home Construction

There is a national standard by which all log homes in the United States should be built. Make sure your builder knows it.

By Rob Pickett

Log homes spark the imagination with images of pioneers, ax in hand, clearing the land and using the very trees they fell to craft the DIY cabin of their dreams. As romantic as that notion is, in the 21st century, things are a bit different — and more technical.

It often comes as a shock to both buyers and builders that when we’re talking about modern log home construction, there’s a standard — a code — by which they must be built. And that’s a good thing. The codes found in the 2012 ICC Standard on the Design and Construction of Log Structures (called the ICC 400-2012 by industry pros) are in place to help you build a structurally sound, high quality house that makes everyone happy and proud.

What is the Log Home Construction Standard?
The ICC 400-2012 was first published in December 2011 by the International Codes Council (ICC), which governs all aspects of the building codes arena. It is the only document regarding log structures that has been approved by the American National Standard Institute (ANSI) as a consensus standard. This means that ICC 400-2012 is applicable to all “types of construction whose primary structural elements are formed by a system of logs.” All proprietary methods and materials of construction must demonstrate compliance with sections of the standard as required by the authoritative jurisdiction.

The standard applies to all new log construction with the following statement:

“This standard establishes the minimum requirements for log structures to safeguard the public health, safety and welfare through structural, thermal, and settling provisions.”

ICC 400-2012 is comprised of five chapters: 1-Administrative Provisions, 2-Definitions, 3-General Requirements, 4-Structural Provisions, and 5-Referenced Standards. All of these are necessary to ensure that your log home will be built to exacting standards of durability and comfort. The ICC 400-2012 is referenced in other ICC Codes, such as International Building Code (IBC), the International Residential Code (IRC) and the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC). Therefore, adoption of these codes, which are universally accepted standards, also includes adoption of ICC 400-2012. It is important to note that non-log portions of the building (think foundation, roofing, plumbing, mechanical, electrical, etc.) must comply with all applicable adopted codes.

The 5 Major Code Components
The experts at the National Association of Home Builders’ Log and Timber Homes Council were key players in the development of the ICC 400-2012, as it addresses many of the unique attributes of log home construction that diverge from the codes and standards written for non-log structures. These include:

1. Log Grading
All logs used in a structural capacity are required to be visually stress graded. Such grading must be performed under the auspices of an accredited grading agency. Two agencies are accredited as rules-writing grading agencies and have provided their design values for inclusion in the standard. Therefore, the ICC 400-2012 helps design professionals to engineer plans specific to log structures rather than adapting data that is published on other structural wood products. Log grading programs are tasked by ICC 400-2012 to certify moisture content of any log product that claims to be dried to any extent.

...for the rest of the major code components, visit the rest of the story on!

Views: 86


You need to be a member of The Log Home Neighborhood to add comments!

Join The Log Home Neighborhood

© 2021   Created by Neighborhood Host.   Powered by

Guide to Log Homes | Advertise | Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service